News Flash

County Commissioners

Posted on: December 14, 2023

Warren County Commissioners Launch Expanded Tax Abatement Program


Visit the Program Page by Clicking Here.

Warren, PA – The Board of Warren County Commissioners unanimously approved a final revision to their “Warren County Tax Relief and Redevelopment Act” which provides for residential and commercial tax abatement programs in participating municipalities in Warren County. This is the culmination of five years of effort, starting with creating the Redevelopment Task Force in 2018. The Task Force identified the implementation of expanded LERTA (Local Economic Revitalization Tax Assistance Act) and IDRPA (Improvement of Deteriorating Real Property or Areas) programs as a key goal in the redevelopment of the county.

The program allows municipalities to employ a tax abatement program for property improvements and new construction on both residential and commercial properties with a maximum benefit of 5 years of 100% tax abatement. In participating municipalities, a person building a new home or redeveloping a property would not have their taxes increased beyond their current amount for up to five years. This type of program has been employed in Erie, Pittsburgh, and Philadelphia to great effect, where entire neighborhoods have been redeveloped with these types of incentives available.

“With the passage of this act and the support from the School District, the county now has the most aggressive tax abatement program of any rural county in Pennsylvania,” stated Commissioner Jeff Eggleston. Commissioner Eggleston created the Redevelopment Task Force and was the program's architect.

To take advantage of the program, a property owner must live in a zone identified by their municipality and contact their local municipal office to get an application, complete it, and turn it back into their municipal office. For more information on the program, contact the County Assessment Office at 814-728-3420 or email the office by visiting the county website at and using a contact form to email the Assessment Office. There is a great deal of information on the county website as well, including a map, a copy of the application, and the municipal ordinances associated with this program.

Citizens are also encouraged to contact their local municipal office for more information. The participating municipalities are Clarendon Borough, City of Warren, Glade Township, Limestone Township, Pleasant Township, Sheffield Township, Tidioute Borough, and Youngsville Borough. Conewango and Pine Grove Townships are participating but have unique program structures.

Any questions for the Commissioners Office regarding this news story may be directed to Pam Matve, Chief Clerk, by phone at 814-728-3402 or by email at

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County Commissioners